Part of an old map of the San Jacinto area from the Texas Revolution

Veteran Bio

Texian Location:  Participant

The Kemp Sketch

(What is this?) | Download the original typescript

WOODWARD, F. MARION--Came to Texas in January, 1836. On the army rolls he is listed as F. W. Woodward, who enrolled in the Auxiliary Corps at Nacogdoches, January 14, 1836. He is shown as having been born in Tennessee. He was a member of Captain James Gillaspie's Company at San Jacinto and on September 14, 1853 Donation Certificate No. 521 for 640 acres of land was issued in his name due him for having participated in the battle. The certificate had been assigned to D. B. Wortham. Bounty Certificate No. 1369 for 320 acres of land was issued in his name September 14, 1853, due him for his services from March 1 to May 30, 1836. This certificate had also been assigned to Mr. Woodward. On February 13, 1854 a Headright Certificate for one-third of a league of land was issued to the "Heirs of F. Marion Woodward, deceased".

Written by Louis W. Kemp, between 1930 and 1952. Please note that typographical and factual errors have not been corrected from the original sketches. The biographies have been scanned from the original typescripts, a process that sometimes allows for mistakes in the new text. Researchers should verify the accuracy of the texts' contents through other sources before quoting in publications. Additional information on the veteran may be available in the Herzstein Library.

Battle Statistics

  • Died in Battle: No
  • Rank: Private
  • Company: Capt. James Gillaspie

Personal Statistics

  • Alternate Names: Wooward, F. W.; Francis Marion
  • Date of Birth: 1787 Jun 27
  • Birthplace: Virginia, Shenandoah Valley
  • Origin: Tennessee
  • Came to Texas: 1836 Jan
  • Date of Death: 1839
  • Burial Place: Franklin County, Tennessee
  • Comments: War of 1812
  • Bounty Certificate: 1369
  • Donation Certificate: 521
  • Wife: Jane Brandon
  • Children: Maria Woodward; Josiah Brandon Woodward; Lemuel Sommerwell (Logan) Woodward